Dear Daddy

05/21/2013 11:10

Daddy,

I’m writing to you today because we are in the middle of an election for Mayor of Jackson and I can’t help but think of you.  I’ve been wondering for the last couple of months about what your thoughts would be about this election, about Jackson today.  I can’t seem to come up with any suitable answers as to what you would say to me regarding this.  Maybe it’s because it’s been so long since you transitioned.  Maybe it’s because while I remember so very much about your life as a civil rights activist here, what I cherish most and identify with most is the Daddy you were after we left Jackson for New York.

Still though, in my desire to remain in line with the work you did here, it’s always been important to me that I follow closely to the legacy you left.  Being a woman, my challenges and struggles are a bit different from yours, I think.  But, there is still struggle.

I remember sitting in the den of our home on Laredo Drive in Clinton listening to you talk with friends like Bro. Hollis Watkins, Bro. Frank Figgers even Kwame Ture’ and many others.  Yes, I do remember that.  I remember that the biggest challenge was getting black people on one accord.  Well, here we are today, in Jackson, MS and that challenge is STILL prevalent.  We are still divided.  We are still confused.  We are still untrusting and damaged.  I am beginning to believe that the cause is lost here.  Maybe we should accept things as they are and do the best we can to just live.

LOL.  Yes sir, I know that’s not an option.

At any rate, it does get to be just a tad bit frustrating.  I’m sure you know all about that.  Keda was telling me last night when I called her crying that what Brad and I are going through is exactly what you and Mama went through with the Black and Proud School.  So, I suppose if you all made it work, we certainly can.  I think it’s a shame that trying to do the best we can to work on behalf of our people has created such hardship and hurt.  But it goes with the territory I suppose.  

So, I guess I have been asking the wrong questions.  I‘ve wondered about what you would do.  Who you’d be supporting in this election?  Would you agree with my candidate of choice?  I see now that I shouldn’t be concerned so much about that.  What I should be concerned about is continuing to do the work.  I should be focused on remaining true to what you’ve taught me and figuring out how to be a vessel in this community to bridge that which I know to be true and what I’m learning to be true.  I’m going to have to stand firm on my beliefs and my choices as you and Mama did.  I have to trust in my gut and waver not. 

At our wedding reception, Mama said that I’d gone and married a man much like you.  I thought that was cute but I didn’t really understand why she was sort of emotional about that.  I believe it’s because she knew that the struggle of being married to a man like you two is REAL.  It is.  People make judgments and do a lot of talking about stuff they know nothing about.  Not to mention that many people don’t like folk who challenge the system and fight for common sense and fairness.  I wondered what Mama meant when she said she didn’t have to worry about me anymore.  I guess she saw our path as a mirror to the one you two traveled.  It was a rough road but yall traveled it together. 

So, my questions have been answered in this letter that will likely make no sense to anyone but me.  However, I’m satisfied.  I am faithful to the work.  I am faithful to my community.  I am faithful to progression.  I am faithful to Jackson.  I am faithful to my Mayoral Candidate; and, faithful to my husband.

PS.  He’s having a concert on your birthday this year!  I choose to believe that will be a celebration of two of the greatest men I have been fortunate enough to share my world with. 

Love your Zuzu,

Funmi