Farewell Bailey Magnet

05/30/2012 16:36

 

Tears streamed down my face as I sat through the athletic banquet at Bailey Magnet last week.  My tears were compiled with feelings of happiness because this was the first time I attended an athletic banquet for my senior-bound, first born son and feelings of disappointment.  Not only was this the first banquet the school has put on in the last four years, but sadly, it’s also the final banquet as Bailey is set to close its doors to high school students in the fall.  I’ve been pretty upset that the school board made this decision without any input from the parents and the community for quite some time now.  But sitting in that cafeteria watching the students made it even more evident that the children are not the focal point of this decision.
 
My son has been living with his dad for a good number of years.  But, last Christmas break he came to us and shared his desire to finish his high school education here, with us.  I was elated.  I’ve spent every Christmas break since he moved trying to convince him to come back to Jackson.  When he finally gave in it was much like a dream come true. 
 
He became acclimated fairly quickly; joined the baseball team.  He found new friends with whom he began to experience what Jackson is all about for a teenager.  It didn’t take long for him to find himself a place at Bailey.  His ability to go with the flow and make the best out of the situation pleased me.
 
Imagine my surprise when he came home from school one day and told me, “Mama, we are going to have to leave Bailey.  They are turning it into a school for the APAC students.”  Admittedly, I thought he might have misunderstood some of the chatter around the school.  When I asked him where he heard that (because I had not been advised), he said his coaches told them.  Soon thereafter, it became public knowledge.
For the life of me, I cannot understand why the “powers that be” in this town do not feel it necessary to communicate with the community.  It doesn’t matter to me what their reasons are for relocating these students.  Honestly, I still haven’t made a determination on whether I agree or disagree with the decision.  All I know is that, tearing these students apart and sending them to separate school (in a much unorganized method) is counterproductive and simply put – not smart.  Some of the students at Bailey don’t have family support and they find that in their friends, teachers, coaches that they’ve come to love there.  What about them?  I have to wonder if any thought was given to how the outgoing students would be affected.  Not to mention the fact that parents will also have to make adjustments in a very short amount of time.  Not that it can’t be done, but why not be courteous enough to at least broach the subject prior to a decision being made. 
 
Fortunately, my son has a solid family foundation so we will ensure that he is placed in a high school that best fits his needs.  But why do we have to find out about it after the students?  Why do I have to move my son- yet again- to another school at the beginning of his senior year?  This is the year when kids should be enjoying each other; focusing on getting into college or starting a career.  This is the time when our biggest worry should be getting a tux for prom and ordering graduation invitations.  Instead, we will spend the summer trying to figure out what school he will go to.  There has been no letters sent to the house with regard to proper steps to take to get him enrolled into a new school.  There has been no communication with parents at all except for the public forums that have taken place AFTER the fact.
 
There was a keen sense of sadness at the banquet as the athletes took to the front of the room to collect their trophies and certificates.  The coaches watched filled with pride and sorrow.  Many know that this abrupt decision didn’t protect their students.  This was just the first introduction they’ll have to being powerless and overlooked.  For some of these students, this decision prophetically speaks to their futures and we can thank the school board for that.
 
As my son and I walked to the truck after the banquet he whispered to me, “Mama, I really wanted to graduate from here, with my friends”.  It broke my heart.  Here we are again.  This child has just moved here; just started over; just made new friends.  We finally got him comfortable in the school and with his instructors.  Now, without any choice in the matter and no knowledge as to reasoning, we have to start all over.  I told my son that I understood how he’s feeling and that we’d make the best of it.  I believe wholeheartedly that we can turn this into a positive thing.  But it just doesn’t set well for me that the school board found no value in our opinion as parents and community residents.  It’s saddens me to think about how this entire situation was handled.  It continues the pattern of failed leadership in Jackson, MS.  There seems to be a popular norm with the leaders in this town to ignore the idea of transparency.  It starts from the top and sores straight to all levels of city government.  No one seems to notice that failed leadership leads to children who have not been properly prepared for success.  There is no way to encourage and support our children if they get the sense that we are not protecting them.  My son feels that the schools don’t care what happens to them.  I have to say that, even as an adult, I would have to agree, based on the way this relocation has occurred. 
 
To the students and teachers of Bailey Magnet, I salute you for your bravery and your strength.   No matter where you are next year, remember the relationships you’ve formed at Bailey.  Know that no matter what obstacles you face, you can still succeed.  Even though you won’t be together, you are still a family.  Keep working toward a future where you can represent the community and prevent this type of half-ass leadership from affecting your children.