Kindred - No, Really!

10/06/2011 11:47
I often thought that a kindred spirit always came wrapped in a boyfriend or husband.  But recently I have been delightfully forced to challenge that mentality.  It’s so new to me that my spirit is still stunned by it.  When I think about it, I am often overwhelmed with emotion and thereafter tears.  I can’t say these are tears of joy either.  These tears are different.  These are tears of peace, comfort, understanding and mostly gratitude.
 
With the blink of an eye, I found myself going from meeting this young woman to holding a very special place in my heart for her.  I didn’t ask for it.  As a matter of fact, based on my past friendship failures, I almost ran from it.  Scared to trust and open up about my personal convictions, struggles, plights, I found myself praying before each talk or email.  “Father, “I’d pray, “Please don’t let me say too much.  Please guide my heart and my tongue.  You know there’s a lot in me that needs to come out so if it’s not the right time or the right person, stop me.”
 
I find it laughable now that I even had to pray about that.  It was really obvious from the start that this person was real. She was what she said she was and she felt how she said she felt.  She had no reason to portray anything to me for any reason.  We knew some of the same people but not really.  It didn’t even matter if we did because most of the time, it’s like talking to myself.  Speaking to her is literally like standing in front of a mirror and having a conversation with me. 
 
I have been afraid in the past to open up and trust people.  I have years of baggage that has tainted my perception of people.  But when I let go of the fear, which was easy to do after praying, I started feeling really good about life, friendship, love.  I began to just accept life for what it is. I realized that this is only a part of what living is.  Real life begins after this one.  Real life continues when we dream.  Real life lives on in our children and our families.  This amount of peace does not exist by happenstance.  This type of peace is a special delivery from our Creator. 
 
Problem with this peace is that once you open yourself up to accepting it, it’s very hard to care about things that most of the people you know care about day to day.  In return, this leaves you with a very difficult time dealing with the people in your lives who haven’t accepted this peace.  You wonder why they are concentrating on such simple things.  You ask yourself, do they understand that this too shall pass.  Having this much peace can also create a great deal of displeasure, unless you have a kindred soul who is there to reinforce in you what you’ve come to know -  a kindred connection that understands what you feel because they feel it too.  Someone who can feel what you think and how you are miles away from you.  Someone who can fight your battles with you when you don’t even know a battle exists.
 
This doesn’t come from a coincidence in the universe.  This is intentional.  This is meant for you.  This is holy and great.
 
I expect that many will read this and think I’ve flown over the cuckoo’s nest.  HA!  I’m sure if I was to read this from someone and I did not have this experience, I might feel the same.  But that’s okay too.  This was written really as a thank you to my Creator for finding enough favor in me to send someone into my life who can help me carry life’s load and smile all the while.  Second a small token of appreciation to my sister, my friend, my kindred soul so that she knows and will never question that I know what this is.  I recognize the power in our connection.  I am proud of it.  I am thankful for it and I am fully embracing it as I know the Lord finds the both of us necessary for each other.
 
Love you Sissy!