Pressing Onward

04/17/2013 08:34

The hardest test isn’t actually doing the work that attaches itself to your passion.   The hard work is sticking to it once you’ve chosen the desired path.  When I first decided that I would commit myself to what I believe I was born to do, I received several words of wisdom from people of all different backgrounds.  I was told to surround myself with like-minded people who believe in what I believe in.  The problem with that, as I have experienced, is that you never REALLY know what people believe in; you can only go by what they say to you.  I was also told to stick to my vision at all costs.

When I was told to stick to my vision, I assumed that was one of those things people say just to be nice.  You know, something just to seem like they are paying attention to what you’re allowing to seep out of your soul at the moment.  Turns out, that piece of advice was actually more useful and relevant than any other words I received.  Funny because it came from someone who seemed to have it all together and whom I believed would have a clear vision right from the start.  You just never know what a person has gone through to get to where they are.

Starting a business or simply opening yourself up to stepping out of your comfort zone isn’t an easy task.  It took me years to even hear my inner voice saying, “You can do this”.  It took even longer, after hearing it clearly, for me to actually believe that I could do it.  I am not really sure that I ever truly believed I could.  I just eventually got to the point that I felt I had nothing to lose so I may as well give it a shot.  However, since then, I have thought about giving in at least a thousand times.  I had to ask myself why I am still trying to bring people together and bring women to a point where they recognize their power.  I have to ask if we, women, care to know our power.  How important is the task at hand?  I mean, just because my life’s struggle has proven to me that there is no real existence until we recognize ourselves and love all the good and the bad, doesn’t mean this will resonate with others, does it?

Well, I don’t know the answer to that question yet.  In fact, I’m not real sure that it’s up to me to determine the answer.  What I do see clearly is that everyone cannot be convinced; some will seem to be convinced who really aren’t; then, others will embrace the message and their lives will improve as a result.  For me, I simply can’t concentrate to the first of the three or the second.  I can only lend myself to those who see, and believe that there is a message in my voice and there is a truth in my tears.  The rest will take a bigger influence than what my mere mortal heart can lend.

So, whether I succeed at this or that, I will keep steady on this journey. 

Whether I lose friends or gain foes, I will press onward.

If I win or lose, I will do the work.

This is my pledge to the world.  I’m not sure it matters to anyone, but me.  But even if it doesn’t, I’m enough.  So, I will go toward improvement and I will take as many with me as I can. 

“I freed over a thousand slaves and I would have freed more, if they knew they were slaves.” – Harriet Tubman