Queen's BET Awards Review - 2013

07/02/2013 08:41

I’m always a critic.  It’s in my blood.  Maybe because I’ve been criticized so much that I simply learned by default.  A critic can access something from a place of balance.  I haven’t always been balanced, but I’m learning how to do that.  Last night’s BET awards gave me another opportunity to test my skills.  While I spent most of the night – minus the hour break to watch True Blood- making jokes about simple things like clothing, and unimportant rhetoric.  But this morning as I review the blogs and check out the pictures, I am inspired to actually give some thought to what we witnessed last night.

First we saw Chris Tucker, with glimpses of Smokey, make his way back into mainstream attention.  While many found him to be un-funny, I actually chuckled a bit at Tucker.  I liked that he spoke about his tax issues and pointed out others in the audience who have been faced with those issues.  But he didn’t miss the opportunity to tell a room full of high selling, money making celebrities to pay their taxes.  Hopefully, that was a teachable moment for them as we have evidence that you can and will go to jail for not doing so (see Lauryn Hill, Wesley Snipes, and Fat Joe).  Chris even took us down memory lane and gave us permission to laugh at Michael Jackson again.  I for one have refrained since he passed just out of respect.  But I suppose, Michael’s friend making jokes about him is avenue to laugh again.

The best part of any awards show, to me, is the live performances.  I love to see the stage shows and I always hope that the direction comes from the artist themselves.  While I know, generally, it doesn’t, it doesn’t stop me from hoping it does.  I am a fan of Chris Brown’s live shows, but I didn’t think very much of his attempt to open the show last night.  It seemed to lack luster and failed in comparison to other shows he’s done.  He may not be opening again based on that performance.

I have heard much about Kendrick Lamar and J. Cole over the last year, but I never watch videos and I don’t listen to the radio, so my interest had not yet been peaked.  However, last night I realized what people are chatting about.  First, it was so refreshing to see some real rapping on an awards show that wasn’t too lyrical and not lyrical enough all at the same time.  I personally need a break from what rap has become.  I’m sick of Drake (and everyone repeating his sound like they did TPain some years back).  And, don’t get me started on 2Chains who, to me is about as ridiculous as Soldier Boy. 

Lamar and Cole both gave me a feeling of real rap returning.  I found that I’d already be jamming to both of their songs already without even knowing who the artist was.  So, I’m thankful for the return of rap and hope that these two (as well as others I’m sure) can inspire youngsters to put some time into the craft and recognize the culture instead of the opportunity to get paid.  Having said that, the guy with the iphone guitar….. please people don’t kill the music in that fashion.  Let’s not go there, ok?

Erykah Badu continues to amaze!  She did what very few have done before her – make women and men alike take note of that junk in the trunk.  Go head Erykah!

I still find myself hoping that Free will appear on the stage out the blue.  There will never be anyone as attached to the idea of BET like Free (and AJ).  I like Angela Simmons and I kinda like Bow Wow, but they are no Free and AJ.  Then again, no one will ever be.  BRING BACK FREE!!!!

As I get ready to go, let me just say that any person who is now or is working toward being a professional entertainer, please give special attention to the performance from Charlie Wilson.  He said it himself.  Of all the lifetime achievement recipients, he is the only one still topping charts and performing.  He still sounds good and his show was still amazing after decades in the business.  He did not allow the superstars to upstage him and he maintained his excellence on stage.  While I am probably the hugest R. Kelly fan you will ever meet, it was clear that Kellz didn’t put much into his show (granted with all the hits he has, he really doesn’t have to), Charlie Wilson remains a favorite because his stage show was high energy and fun.  Never underestimate the power of getting people up out of their chairs.  Its not easy to do when performing in front of people who aren’t easily impressed, but Uncle Charlie did it with no problem. 

Til next year, this has been the Queen’s Award Review.

 

I’ll holla…..