Queen's Top Picks - Jacktown Music

05/17/2012 12:50

Let me start this off by saying, I dare anyone to challenge me on my ability to recognize good music.  Now the levels by which I am inclined musically vary depending on the genre of music.  For example, when it comes to R&B, I am well rounded in what’s good – the vocal ability, good beats, range, control, tone, pitch, natural talent, and those who just make it above being able to hold a note.  With hip hop, I tend to sway a bit to what I like.  For example, I am not necessarily drawn to beats unless it’s one of those undeniable ones.  Generally, I am more attached to lyricism.  So, if you are not, you might be able to stand your ground in an argument with me about what’s good and what isn’t.

I’m always appreciative of people who hustle too regardless of their natural born talent.  So I have a natural attachment to people who grind hard and I tend to like them more than those who think they have so much talent that the grind is unimportant. 

I am also a people person.  I like approachable artists who appreciate the people they make music for.  Not so much the ones who feel like the people who listen to them should be thankful that they are putting out music.  Those people, regardless of how good their product is, will never be on a Queen’s Top Pick List.  EVER!  I will not!  I cannot!  So if you think you good and you don’t make this list, ask yourself why!

Jacktown is FILLED with musical talent.  For the first installment of Queen’s Top Picks, I will stick to what I know best – R&B and Hip Hop.  I’ll venture to other genres eventually, but not today.

 

Here are my favz and why:

 

R&B Male – MACAFEE – I know some might say that Mac has been around too long to be on this list, but I beg to differ.  He is indeed a vet in the game and that is why he’s here.  He’s like the Jacktown  R.Kelly.  Not in terms of lyrics but vocal tone and control.  He’s bad.  He’s mastered it.  And his gift is natural.  I’d bet he’s been singing and running since he was able to talk.  I have seen Mac write a song in five minutes that would make you want to hear it on the radio.  In fact he did just that for our wedding reception.  That, my people, is genius!  If you don’t know who he is, you should.

R&B Male #2 – Kerry Thomas – So, this guy is new to the list.  I like him because he has a very soothing, pleasant voice that makes you want to either cry or make babies.  I love that.  Besides that he gave me a personal serenade for my birthday (Thanks Hubs!).  He’s genuinely a nice guy.  From what I can tell he is always willing to work with others and he is holding Jacktown down fully.  I respect that. 

 

R&B Female – AKAMI GRAHAM – I know yall know how the Queen feels about this woman.  I’ve written blurbs about her in the JFP for several years as winner of this category (and others) in the Best of Jackson Awards.  But let me tell you why I love her.  So, picture it, Dreamz Jackson, she’s on stage singing (with no shoes on – of course) and I hear her crack right in the middle of a run.  THIS GIRL, repeats the run, includes the crack and continues to the song.  Who the hell does that?  From that moment on, I was a goner.  I realized that her vocal ability was masterful.  She is beautiful and she’s the sweetest little thing ever.  Here’s a note:  She hates singing Sweet Thang, but she loves her fans so much that she does it every time they request it.  If you love her back, request something by Jill Scott.  She loves singing Jill.  Anyway, Akami rocks!

R&B Female #2 – Cheryl aka Songbird – Here’s Jacktown’s Jennifer Hudson people.  The power she has in her voice is splendid.  She takes you on a ride with her through each song.  If she’s happy, you’ll be happy.  If she’s sad, so will you be.  I like that.  To me, that is an indication that she sings from her soul.  Her voice is just a vessel of her soul reaching out to us.  It’s beautiful.  So, here’s when I knew I loved her.  When Whitney Houston died she recorded a video of herself singing “I will always love you.”  As if I had not cried enough.  When I heard and watched it, my soul ached for the pain that she was clearly in having lost someone who influenced her musically.  I could feel her pain (and mine).  If you haven’t seen it, you should.  Songbird is a beast with it. 

 

Hip Hop Male – 5th Child – I really don’t have to do this do I?  I mean, if you are from Jackson and you haven’t heard of this fella, I really beg you……… get to wherever he is and get some music from him.  Lyrically, in my opinion, there are only about two people IN Jackson who can match him.  In an effort to continue living in a happy marriage, I will not name those people.  I will say that, I got a cd from his brother after I heard him for the first time.  The brother wanted me to purchase the cd.  I told him that I should get a cd for free (not that I wasn’t prepared to purchase it) – I was joking.  He was grinding (see what I mean, grind and have yo peoples grind too).  Anyway it was Piano’s in the Dark.  I was listening to it in my truck and I felt like I’d known this guy all my life.  His lyrics were crystal clear.  Nothing I had to fight to understand.  I understood every word.  I appreciate that.  When I got to the song “My Hometown”, it was over.  That song should be playing in every car in Jackson every Friday night on your way to the club.  It’s our anthem.  If you haven’t heard it, you need to.  He has new music now, but that song JAMZ….CRISPLY!  All that, plus he is really a nice guy, he’s an educator and he has a nice smile. 

Hip Hop Male #2 – Skipp Coon – Vet in the game!   I couldn’t do this without mentioning this man!  Let me just say that the first conversation I had with Skipp did not have me up in arms about him!  LOL.  I had heard about him before I actually heard him.  I even I had his cd in my truck long before I ever listened to it because the first time I talked to him, I wasn’t particularly won over by him.  However, I saw him at a Dreamz concert and he took the stage and literally in about two minutes I thought, “WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOW!!!”  He had come to the stage and checked like every other rapper before him because they were calling women bitches and hoes and talking about getting money and all that jazz.  These guys were standing in front of him on stage and he didn’t bite his tongue.  I was like “HELLZ YEAH”.  So needless to say, I went to the car that night, dug until I found the cd and it was automatically in regular rotation from that point.  He’s a teacher, an educator musically.  You can’t listen to his music and not be smarter once you’re done.  So, if you want to hear about titties and asses, this guy isn’t the one for you.  But if you are into REAL RAPPING….Skipp Coon’s ya man.

Aight………….enough for today………………  I’ll be back with the HIP HOP Female favz!  Holla!