2013 Crossroads Film Festival - The Companion- My take!

04/15/2013 14:11

Okay so, I went to the Crossroads Film Festival this weekend and caught the Murder Block, I think that’s what they called it.  I was there to see JLee Productions and Crescent Creation’s short film, The Murderer, but there were two short narratives that played before it.  One was called “S is for Sally” and the other “The Companion”.

Ever watched a movie having no idea what to expect and then get bolted into a emotional whirlwind?  Yeah, me too.  I stay away from movies that are so enthralling that I can’t shake them.  If you know me at all, you know that I am very emotional and very empathetic.  Therefore, it’s hard for me to shake certain things so I usually know what I can handle and what I can’t.  I don’t do scary movies – at all.  I don’t do documentaries about racism too much.  I mean, I will watch those but only when I have done a significant amount of preparation.  It took me at least a year to watch The Help and I still was angry for about six months behind it.  I mean, really angry – like all I saw was red. I don't even doo the really mushy lovey-dovey movies well.  Although I do like them, I can generally only watch once or very far apart.  For example, I absolutely love The Notebook, but I can only watch it like every other year or so.  It's one of my favorite movies but I get so involved in it that it becomes a part of MY reality for much longer than I can comfortably welcome.  Even if it's just an hour after watching, for me, that's too much.

As I sat in the theater waiting to see my husband as Detective Carmichael in The Murderer, I was stunned by “S is for Sally”.  It was a good movie, it actually blew me away.  But nothing could have prepared me for the sway of emotions I'd encounter in "The Companion” by Drika Sheron.  Let me first say that I watched the movie Saturday.  I stayed up all night Sunday because I couldn’t find peace about it.  I kept thinking about the man in the movie and I had to try to put all the pieces together.  Today, I am still finding it hard to separate myself from it.  And yes, I’ve cried.

It’s the story of a man who lost his family – wife and daughter – in a car accident.  He became mentally detached from reality.  He kidnapped a young girl and kept her for 12 years.  He saw this young girl as his wife at times and then as his daughter at other times.  He even raped the girl (the wife).  He beat her from underneath the bed in the first scene.  So, from the door, right from the start, I was emotionally vested in the movie.  I recall looking over at my husband and saying, "Babe, I don't think I can watch this movie."  It was just that jarring and heavy.  He looked at me and his eyes were sort of like "awwww" and "Stop it" all together.  I was intrigued and couldn't wait to see what happened next - every second of the movie.

I wondered what Drika would have done with the narrative if it were a feature film.  When the question was asked, how she came about the idea for the film she said that she had a dream one night and it lead to this story.  She also spoke about mental challenges that go untreated in our community.  I got the sense that she was really connected to that. 

All I know for sure is that what she created touched me.  It has been tugging at my emotions ever since the opening line.  I actually decided to write this as a way to relieve myself of it.  It was sad and hurtful.  But it was intelligent and well developed.  Funny how in a small time frame of 15 minutes someone can put something on your mind or heart that sticks with you for days at a time.

Well, Ms. Drika Sheron, you have a new fan, my dear.  I might have to be prepared the next time I watch one of your films, but I most certainly look forward to seeing more from you!