When You Love A Man -

09/13/2010 15:18

 

"When you love a man, he becomes more than a body. His physical limbs expand, and his outline recedes, vanishes. He is rich and sweet and right. He is part of the world, the atmosphere, the blue sky and the blue water."  Gwendolyn Brooks

 

It took years for me to understand exactly what Gwendolyn Brooks must have been feeling when she explained what it’s like to love a man. I thought the sentiment was beautiful, but I hadn’t experienced this man, so I could not bring her words to real life; not my life.

 

Oh but now, now I feel her words and I know what she means all too well.

 

Coming up on the first anniversary of the day that I united with a man who I only knew before this day as a dream, I now understand love. I’d like to say that I knew this kind of love the day that I walked down that grassy isle to meet him in front of my brother to exchange our promise to love and last forever. But, that wouldn’t be the truth. What I knew that day was that he was for me. I knew I’d love him forever. I knew that my family was happy. I knew my son welcomed him. I knew my brothers were relieved in the idea of someone “taking care” of their baby sister. I knew that my sisters were happy that I was happy. My friends were in awe of how my life had changed. 

 

I knew it was good. I knew he was good. I knew that with him, I was good. But I didn’t know it could get better.

 

During the first year of our marriage, most of which I was an evil pregnant woman, I began to see love shine through his eyes like sparkles from the sun. I began to see the man the Creator had given me. Fantasy has shadowed my reality and now when I lie next to him in bed his arms are strong enough to separate me from the rest of world. When he holds me, I know that there is no force that could remove me from his grasp. I see clouds of completeness in his eyes each morning before I rise. His every touch sends chills down my spine while his voice echoes thunderous chants through my soul to my racing heart.  With each kiss, the world stands still; the oceans sing out and the wind relieves distress with each breeze. 

 

The man I married is real. He’s real. He is a man of strength and pride. He is a man who is loving and determined. He is the man that was created just for me. YES! I have no doubt in that fact. Hell may knock at our door or sneak in the window when we aren’t looking, but this man is steadfast. He looks at all that comes to shift our balance, right in the eyes and says with great determination, “YOU ARE NOT WELCOMED HERE! You will not intervene in our comfort; our happiness. Try as you will, you will fail against us. We are strong and we are survivors. We are family.” 

 

And he means it. This is his truth!

 

I have learned of his strength. I have settled with great pride in the idea of being his rock in the midst of storms. No matter what the world throws at my husband, I know he will succeed. When others doubt him, I don’t. I laugh at their ignorance. I dance on their inability to see the best in him. What is evident to me will one day be undeniable to them.

 

My soul mate, my partner, my best friend has become a permanent fixture in my world. He has turned gray skies blue; rain to sunshine. He has injected a new life into my tired and weary heart. I am thankful and I am a believer in great love! It’s special and it transcends beyond just good sex or good conversation or someone being there for you. Real, good love, is beyond expression and needs no introduction. It just is. Being in love with a good man is the most beautiful thing a woman can experience. 

 

It is my honor to have Brad Franklin as my husband, this year and every year to come. “If I am a reflection of him, then I must be fly because his light shines so bright…”

 

Happy Anniversary Hubs!